Got questions? We've got answers.

General Info

All of our products, regardless of what brand they are produced under, are certified Kosher by Orthodox Union. Look for the OU symbol on our retail and bulk packaging.

Our products are not currently certified Halal, however San Joaquin Figs certifies that all raw materials, utensils, tools, equipment, and packaging materials used in the processing, packing, and storage of our products do not contain or come in contact with any animal based products or alcohol at any time. 

The Black (dark purple fig) is the Mission Fig. Mission Figs are known for their sweet flavor and purple color. The seeds tend to be tinier than other varieties and the skin is thinner.
The Golden colored figs are known for their sweet, somewhat nutty flavor. The seeds in the Golden Figs tend to be a little more pronounced and the skin a little chewier.

Natural fruit sugars can move to the surface of figs over time. This natural process, called sugaring, occurs because of the sweetness of figs. Customers sometimes mistake this for mold, but it is simply fruit sugars crystallizing on the surface, and customers in some markets actually prefer sugared figs!

Yes, dried figs can be frozen without being damaged. You should use an airtight bag or container and they can last up to a year in the freezer.

The black (dark purple fig) is the Mission Fig. Mission Figs are known for their sweet flavor and purple color. The seeds tend to be tinier than other varieties and the skin is thinner. The golden colored figs are known for their sweet, somewhat nutty flavor. The seeds in the Golden Figs tend to be a little more pronounced and the skin a little chewier.

Nutrition Info

Yes, none of our products contain any GMO ingredients. While our products are not certified to be GMO free, we have no reason to believe that any of our products have genetically modified materials.

No, many of our products are considered to be naturally Gluten Free. Our facility does not handle any products or ingredients that may contain Gluten. San Joaquin Figs does not presently make a “Certified Gluten Free Statement,” because we do not test for gluten on a regular basis, but we have no reason to believe that our products contain gluten. 

Yes, all products produced by San Joaquin Figs are considered to be Vegan based on the following criteria:

Products contain no animal ingredients or animal by-products. We use no animal ingredients or animal by-products in our manufacturing process.

None of our products or ingredients have been tested on animals.

San Joaquin Figs does not presently make a “Certified Vegan Statement,” because we do not utilize an independent 3rd party to certify the Vegan status of our products.